WEST DEVON COUNCIL



Minutes of a meeting of the West Devon Council held on Tuesday, 19th December, 2023 at 12.00 pm at the Chamber - Kilworthy Park

Present: **Councillors:**

Chairman Cllr Daniel **Vice Chairman** Cllr Sellis

Cllr Calder Cllr Bridgewater Cllr Casbolt Cllr Cheadle Cllr Cunningham Cllr Dexter Cllr Edmonds Cllr Elliott Cllr Guthrie Cllr Johnson Cllr Jory Cllr Kimber Cllr Mann Cllr Moody Cllr Mott Cllr Oxborough Cllr Renders Cllr Southcott Cllr Squire Cllr Vachon Cllr Viney Cllr Wakeham Cllr Watts Cllr West

In attendance:

Officers:

Chief Executive and Head of Paid Service Director - Governance & Assurance Head of Democratic Services Monitoring Officer

46. **Apologies for Absence**

CM 46/23

Apologies for absence were received from Cllrs Ball, Blackman, Ewings, Leech and Saxby.

47. **Declarations of Interest**

CM 47/23

The Mayor invited Members to declare any interests in the items of business to be considered during the course of the meeting but there were none made.

48. **Honorary Aldermen - Nominations**

CM 48/23

Members considered a report that sought approval, in accordance with Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, for the nomination of Mr Mike Davies, Ms Diana Moyse, Mr Terry Pearce and Mr Paul Ridgers to be conferred the title of 'Honorary Alderman' in recognition of their respective service to West Devon Borough Council

In the ensuing debate, tributes were paid by a number of Members to the outstanding community service and dedication that each of the four nominees had demonstrated.

It was then proposed by Cllr L Daniel, seconded by Cllr M Renders and upon being submitted to the Meeting was declared to be **CARRIED** and **"RESOLVED** that, in accordance with Section 249(1) of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman of the Council upon:

- Mr Mike Davies;
- Ms Diana Moyse;
- Mr Terry Pearce; and
- Mr Paul Ridgers."

The Meeting concluded at 12.10 pm

Signed by:

Chairman